Copyrighted Logo

css menu by Css3Menu.com

Bruce's 5th book, a Home Study Course, is now available.
Books & Tapes by Bruce Moen
    Bruce's Blog now at http://www.afterlife-knowledge.com/blog....

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
Any Christians on here? (Read 23093 times)
jdee190

ALK Member

Re: Any Christians on here?
Reply #30 - Aug 2nd, 2011 at 1:48pm

The Christians that do worry me are the ones who say, you need to accept Jesus or you will not be saved or get to Heaven.

Then if this worries me i also worry about there being no afterlife.

Ridiculous! One of my best friends has been brainwashed by a fundamental Christian, he now believes he has to warn people of Hell and accepting Christ.

IP Logged

Berserk2

Reply #31 - Aug 2nd, 2011 at 3:21pm

jdee,

I was a religious studies professor for 12 years and am now a United Methodist pastor.  I just read your post.  I see that the thread has not really answered your question, yet it has led to an interesting New Age conversation.  Expand your question into all your related questions, and I will start a new thread devoted to your issues.  That way, this thread can continue in its unique direction too.

Don

IP Logged

b2
Ex Member

Reply #32 - Aug 2nd, 2011 at 4:51pm

jdee,

No one has the 'right' to decide whether another person is going to 'hell' if they don't 'believe' the 'right' thing. When I was 13 I was running around telling people the same thing. Did I know what I was talking about? No. I tend to think that your 'fundamentalist' (another label - this person is more than that, by a long shot) is also very fearful, or this 'choice' would not be the one which he/she is offering to others.

It's almost 'parental' to tell someone they must do or think something in particular 'or else'. So, who is trying to control who?

It's about power, jdee, and what makes people feel virtuous, or knowledgeable, or whatever.