Copyrighted Logo

css menu by Css3Menu.com

Bruce's 5th book, a Home Study Course, is now available.
Books & Tapes by Bruce Moen
    Bruce's Blog now at http://www.afterlife-knowledge.com/blog....

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
A question regarding meditating (Read 2982 times)
Paul H

A question regarding meditating
Sep 11th, 2009 at 4:59am

Hi all,

I am just starting to learn how to meditate, and I am using breathing techniques which I found within a Buddhism book which a friend had lent me.

After a few attempts, I think that I may have cracked it, however as nobody else can experience what I am experiencing, I can not validate it.

I felt that my whole body was asleep but my mind was conscious. The strange thing that happened to me though is that I could see very clearly through my right eye despite my eyes being shut. I could see the bridge of my nose; my arm and the window in front of me as I would if I was fully awake. This only happened for a few seconds because I snapped out of the meditation state, and became physically conscious again. I opened my eyes, and I was fully aware of all of my actions.

The other thing that I found interesting too, is that I could not hear any outside noise but I could hear a sound within me - a kind of high pitched sound which seemed continuous.

My question is - Is it possible to be able to see as it would be to see when physically awake, and was I actually meditating or is it something entirely different?

This is very strange, but very exiting.

I just need to make sure that my mind is not playing tricks with me and it is not all in my imagination… I hope not

I can not wait to try again

Love and best wishes to you all
Paul

IP Logged

vajra
Ex Member

Re: A question regarding meditating
Reply #1 - Sep 11th, 2009 at 10:15am

Hi Paul. I'm speaking from a Buddhist perspective.