Copyrighted Logo

css menu by Css3Menu.com

Bruce's 5th book, a Home Study Course, is now available.
Books & Tapes by Bruce Moen
    Bruce's Blog now at http://www.afterlife-knowledge.com/blog....

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
the REAL Bible? (Read 2204 times)
Polly
Ex Member

the REAL Bible?
Mar 8th, 2005 at 5:54pm

Someone I work with recently told me the Bible we have today (King James) isn't the real Bible.  He said many sections were deleted from the Bible centuries ago that the Catholic church didn't agree with.  Is this true?  If it is, where is the REAL, unedited Bible?  Does it exist?

IP Logged

Berserk

Afterlife Knowledge Member

Re: the REAL Bible?
Reply #1 - Mar 9th, 2005 at 12:18am

Polly, i have a Harvard doctorate in Bible and the Early Church.  I was a Theology professor for 12 years and, before that, a Teaching Fellow at Harvard for 2 years.  So I think I know what I'm talking about on the charges your co-worker raised.

Your co-worker is wrong about the King James Version (KJV).  The problem is not what it deletes, but what it includes that is absent from the earliest and best Greek New Testament manuscripts.  The KJV is based on later flawed Greek and Hebrew manuscripts of the Bible that are less reliable than the earlier ones that form the basis of modern translations.  As a result, the KJV contains a host of very minor errors---the wrong word here and there.

But here are its three most serious blunders: